Easy Sugar Cookies!

Image

Mac, my wonderful husband, loves sweets, but he LOVES sugar cookies.

Particularly sugar cookies from a little bakery cafe back home, Elegance Bakery.

Well…I love to bake, but I’m not a huge fan of sugar cookies because they tend to need to be refrigerated and then rolled, and cut, and decorated. Β They are just a lot of work. Usually.

So Mac has been asking for the past few weeks if I could make him some sugar cookies and today, since it was chilly outside, I decided to give in and bake him some sugar cookies.

(I’m such a good wife!) πŸ™‚

I researched various different sugar cookie recipes and read the reviews so that I could get an idea of what I was about to dive into…I finally decided on this simple recipe from callmepmc.com.

This recipe seemed simple (I had all of the ingredients) and NO REFRIGERATION needed!!! (YAY!!) πŸ™‚

That means no waiting around for an hour or more before rolling, cutting, decorating, and baking! Whoop, whoop!

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used Gluten-Free, All-Purpose Flour from Trader Joe’s because that’s what I had on hand.)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Various colored sugars or sprinkles for decorating (you can also frost/glaze these if you prefer)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy; about 5 minutes. (Note: I let my butter get SOFT-almost mushy-before putting it in the bowl. I think this helps get it nice and fluffy!)

Sugarcookies7Β Sugarcookies9

Once creamed well, add egg and vanilla.

Sugarcookies6Β Sugarcookies5

In a separate bowl, SIFT together flour, baking powder, and salt. (NOTE: I find sifting makes cookies seem fluffier….it could just be me, but I always sift.)

Spoon the flour mixture into the butter mixture a little at a time until well combined.

Sugarcookies4

Split dough into two parts, and roll one half of the dough out to 1/8 inch thickness. (NOTE: I use powdered sugar in lieu of flour on my rolling pin and counter-top.)

Dip cookie cutter in powdered sugar before cutting. (NOTE: I don’t have any cookie cutters, so I use a small juice glass.) Roll and cut until all dough is used.

Sugarcookies3

Decorate with colored sugar or sprinkles.

Bake on and ungreased cookie sheet, or use parchment paper for 6 to 7 minutes. Cool for 2 minutes on cookie sheet before removing to cooling rack to cool completely.

TA-DA!! πŸ™‚

Sugarcookies10

If you want to frost or glaze these, do that after they have cooled completely.

Here is a recipe for a yummy, but simple glaze.

What you’ll need:

  • Powdered Sugar
  • Fresh Lemon or Orange Juice
  • Food Coloring (optional)

In a small bowl, combine a couple tablespoons of powdered sugar with some fresh lemon or orange juice until smooth (will be slightly liquidy). If too thin, add more sugar. If too thick, add more juice. Add food color of choice to create desired color.

I hope you had a SWEET Sunday like me! πŸ™‚

Happy Baking!

5 thoughts on “Easy Sugar Cookies!

  1. I’M not a big fan of sugar cookies because they contain… well, SUGAR. What’s the point of going gluten free if you’re just going to fill up on sugar? Great way to damage your body’s biochemistry.

    1. Thank you for your comment. I appreciate the feedback, but Cookies, in general should be eaten in moderation as they ALL contain sugar (many recipes call for much more than this recipe). I also, only mentioned that I used gluten-free flour because that’s what I had on hand. I didn’t mean to offend.

      1. Sometimes I get a little carried away and act like a sugar Nazi – so sorry if I sounded sharp. I didn’t mean to. I think I was reacting this way because I had just done a few posts on the latest fad for gluten free diets, when to my mind a worse offender to today’s health problems is not wheat per se, but sugar. I’m also a bit down on refined white flour, too, as it turns to sugar so fast in our bodies. Both sugar and refined flour cause sugar spikes when eaten in any kind of volume. I didn’t mean to be so preachy -so sorry!

      2. Thank you for clarifying your earlier comments. I appreciate the info and I am constantly trying to find new ingredients and ways to make my hand-me-down family recipes a little healthier. I’m not sure there really is a way to make sugar cookies healthy, but again, this isn’t something I normally make. It definitely is a sweet treat!

Leave a Reply

