Quinoa for Breakfast?!?!

I’m sure you’ve heard of, and probably even tried, or LOVE quinoa….am I right? 🙂

Well….It has taken me a while to get used to the texture and smell of quinoa…but I kind of like it! My parents recently gifted me with a box of Trader Joe’s Organic Quinoa and I had heard all the great things about it (“it’s a perfect protein,” “super healthy,” etc.), so I decided I wanted to find some ways to use it.

Off to Pinterest I went…and as I pinned away, I wondered if there were any recipes to use quinoa for breakfast… you know, like oatmeal. I figured having it for breakfast would be a great way to start off the day and keep me full until lunch.

In my searching and pinning, I came across this recipe from Martha Stewart for Breakfast Quinoa.

I decided to give it a shot, but since it is only me eating it, I didn’t think I needed to make the full cup of quinoa (if you haven’t made it before…1 cup makes 4 servings! it EXPANDS a lot!).  The first time I made this recipe I tried to make it before I went to work, but I didn’t give it enough time to fully absorb all of the milk…so it was still a little crunchy and soupy. Not great. But OK enough that I’d give it another go.

Since my first run, I now make it at night and make enough for 4 servings, divide it into microwave safe containers and pop it in the fridge. Then in the morning all I have to do is pop it into the microwave for a minute or enjoy it cold!

Image

 

You may be wondering what that black stuff is on top of the quinoa in the picture….it’s Chia seeds. They are full of all kinds of HEALTHY GOODNESS and can be added to baked goods, yogurt, oatmeal, salads, and more!

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups milk or water
  • 4 tsp brown sugar (or other sweetner)
  • 4 tsp chia seeds (I got mine at Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 cup blueberries (1/4 cup per serving-added before serving; fresh or frozen; not pictured)

Rinse and drain the quinoa and add to a medium saucepan with milk or water.  Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until all of the liquid is absorbed.  When cooked you can see the germ ring around the edges of the quinoa.  Divide into 4 equal servings, add 1 tsp brown sugar and chia seeds to each serving. Enjoy while warm with 1/4 cup blueberries on top, or refrigerate and add blueberries before serving. 

This is a great grab-and-go breakfast when it’s already prepped! It is also very tummy filling! 🙂

Enjoy! 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

