Easy Veggie Breakfast Hash & Eggs

I love to be in the kitchen. I mean…I LOVE to be in the kitchen.

The kitchen is where good things happen and delicious memories are made.

I have so many wonderfully comforting memories of spending time in my Gramma’s and mom’s kitchens baking and cooking old favorite recipes, and creating new favorites with love and laughter. I love the special little methods and techniques in cooking and baking that only moms and grandmas can teach you. I also love the wonderful smells and delicious vittles that come out of the kitchen and ROCK my taste buds! 🙂

One thing I have learned from both my mom and Gramma is to not be afraid in the kitchen.  Sure…start with a recipe, and maybe make it from the recipe a few times, but then….make it your own.  🙂

Missing a recipe ingredient? Find a suitable substitute and toss it in!

My mom is a pro at making up her own recipes…sometimes things don’t work out so great….BUT most of the time, it is AWESOME

Kind of like my Easy Veggie Breakfast Hash & Eggs:

Image

 

This morning I wanted something a little different from my usual green smoothie or my avocado & egg pizza for breakfast, and I had a bunch of fresh veggies in the fridge that I needed to use.

So, being my mother’s daughter…I decided to dice up and toss together the veg and cook up a couple of eggs to top it all off…AND it was AMAZINGLY yummy! (And super easy!! BONUS!) 🙂

You can really make this with whatever veg you have on hand…but here is what I used (it seems like a lot of veg, but it will cook down a bit):

  • 1 small eggplant, diced (roughly about 1.5 cups)
  • 1/2 large zucchini squash, skin on, diced
  • 1/2 large orange bell pepper, diced
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil, chiffonade, divided
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • garlic powder, crushed red pepper, dried oregano
  • 2 eggs

I diced up all of my veggies and tossed them into a skillet over medium heat with a little bit of olive oil. I seasoned the veggies with salt and pepper and let them cook for about 1-2 minutes.  I threw in a few dashes of garlic powder, a pinch of crushed red pepper, and a couple dashes of dried oregano. I gave it all a big stir and added in 1 tbsp of the fresh basil and let it cook another minute or so.  I piled it all into the middle of my plate and set aside.

I added my eggs to the pan, seasoned with a little salt and pepper, and cooked them to a nice over-easy…or dippy egg (if you are from the East). I plopped the eggs right on top of that beautiful mountain of veggie hash and added 1 tbsp of fresh basil on top for garnish.

This is a low-cal, high-protein meal….and did I mention it was YUMMY!?!? 🙂

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

