Curried Chickpea Salad…Hello, YUM!

A little over a year ago, I decided I needed a change. A change in my diet and exercise…or lack there-of.

I realize that weight and body-image are things that most women struggle with and coming from a family of lovely, wonderfully plump women, I knew that if I didn’t make a change I would have a bigger battle to fight through later on in life.

I wanted to make myself a healthier me. It helped that Mac was willing to do this challenge with me. At my heaviest, I weighed 180+ lbs., which is a lot of weight for my 5’6″ frame.
Me and Mac engagement
(Me at my heaviest.)

So, we started with cutting back on our daily intake of calories, counting calories/reading labels, and making sure we were eating high-protein, high-fiber foods. I kept (and still keep) a food/exercise journal with my daily exercise, foods and their calories, and my water intake. I carried this journal with me EVERYWHERE! I used the CalorieKing.com app on my phone to look up calories and log them into my journal.

When we started, I hated any exercise other than walking. I could do that…I was good at it. So, I would walk on our local trail and a good family friend introduced me to Leslie Sansone’s Walk at Home DVDs. These are AWESOME for the lazy, out-of-shape person that lives inside all of us!

Needless to say, I became addicted! I would get up every morning and do a DVD for an hour before getting ready for work. This became my routine…

Fast Forward to April 2013 (and 25 pounds lighter)…

This happened:

ankleankle boot

What a set-back…two weeks in the boot and 2 months in physical therapy…

But once my ankle was better, I got back to my routine of exercise in the morning, eating right (with the occasional “cheat” day), and keeping my journal.

Since the move to Michigan, I’ve gotten into running! (Even my jaw still hits the floor when I say that!)

I challenge myself to run “just 5 more minutes” everyday. So far I can run 30 minutes without a break and then after a short 5 minute walk another 15 minutes! I’m pretty stinkin’ proud of myself!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

runner
(This is me after my run this morning–my ELF ears are showing!)

My goal is to eventually RUN a 5k! I know I can do it!

So since I try to eat high-protein and high-fiber foods, I decided to make this recipe for Curried Chickpea Salad that my cousin shared on Facebook last week (Thanks, Dusty Jo!). You can find the recipe here, but I changed one thing and subbed in another.

I didn’t have the red onion that it calls for, so I subbed regular yellow onion. I also don’t have cilantro (it’s not a favorite in our house), but I do have lots of dried dill. It calls for 1/4 cup, but I thought that was a little excessive…so I only added about half that amount (1/8 cup).

This was DEEEEEEELICIOUS!! I had it as two lunches. The first day I ate it right out of the bowl by itself and today I added it on top of a mountain of baby spinach and added 1/4 chopped avocado! HELLO, YUM!

lunch

This deliciousness is only about 288 calories per serving (2) and it has a boatload of fiber (9.5 g) and protein (10.9 g).

This made me a HAPPY girl!

I hope it makes you happy too! ๐Ÿ™‚

(Oh, and I’m almost 40 lbs lighter than the picture at the top of this post!)

3 thoughts on “Curried Chickpea Salad…Hello, YUM!

  1. LOVE!!!! I am in the same boat…180 on 5’5.5″ AND diabetes and high blood pressure. I am trying like crazy to not get on meds for diabetes (already on BP meds). I love Leslie Sansone! I have walked a lot to her videos. I will keep sharing recipes and you keeps inspiring me! THANK YOU! (Yes, we do come from plumpish genes!)

    1. Thanks, Dusty! I hope you can find some inspiration and get yourself to a healthier you! ๐Ÿ™‚ If I can do it, seriously, anyone can….sometimes you just need a cheerleader!

Leave a Reply

